Map of Drought Declared Shires in the Burdekin Dry Tropics RegionAs of June 2015, 65.8% of the Burdekin Dry Tropics region has been officially declared as in drought. Approximately 80% of Queensland is drought declared. The following Shires in the region have been fully or partially drought declared:

  • Barcaldine
  • Charters Towers
  • Etheridge
  • Flinders
  • Isaac – Partial (The area of Isaac Regional Council to the west of the Gregory Developmental Road to Clermont and west of the Gregory Highway to the shire boundary).

The Department of Agriculture and Fisheries is helping primary producers manage their business through a range of drought services, including financial assistance, livestock nutrition and animal welfare information, and business-management strategies. Further information is available on the department’s website.