Former Burdekin Mayor takes the helm at NQ Dry Tropics

The NQ Dry Tropics Board has a new Chairperson, following the appointment of Lyn McLaughlin, former Mayor of Burdekin Shire Council. She takes over from Mark Stoneman, who served with distinction in the role for eight years.

The NQ Dry Tropics Board is responsible for ensuring that the not-for profit, community-focused organisation is soundly managed and on course to achieve its vision, which is to support the Burdekin Dry Tropics community to sustainably manage its land and water.

Lyn said she was looking forward to the challenge of leading the organisation, which acts as a vital link bringing together landowners, community groups, industry, research bodies, and all levels of government.

“This is a huge challenge. Mark was an extremely capable leader and I will certainly have big shoes to fill”, she said.

“It is vital that the issue of managing our natural resources becomes part of everyday life among the Burdekin Dry Tropics community.”

“NQ Dry Tropics is involved with so many important and innovative projects throughout the region, and it is important that the community is aware of exactly who we are and what we do”, she said.

Outgoing Chairperson Mark Stoneman said that he had greatly enjoyed his eight-year stint, and that with Lyn’s appointment, NQ Dry Tropics was in capable hands. “Lyn is a very good choice. She is a very experienced, dynamic community person with a significant background in local government,” he said.

“I have enjoyed my time as Chair, but people in leadership positions have a shelf life, and it was important to put a succession plan in place.”

“I have been proud to lead a Board that has a range of skills and backgrounds, and hope that my experience in grazing and politics has benefited NQ Dry Tropics.”

“I will personally miss my personal interaction with the staff, who are delivering great work on the ground with individual landowners and community groups”, he said.

For more information on the NQ Dry Tropics Board, view our Governance page.